Semiarchly

pearl district (2003/03/09)

"A" and I went to Portland this weekend to see her old pal Andrew perform sketch comedy.

We investigated the Pearl District. It's an old, 1890s to 1910s neighborhood with great old brick buildings. They've done a great job dolling them up (It shows that gentrification doesn't have to be crass and ugly, like Belltown in Seattle). The streets are on the narrow side, with many sidewalk bulbs, so it's very pedestrian-friendly. They've also left some ruins behind.

There's no building behind this.

"A" has long maintained that black trim makes buildings look classy and timeless. It's true. Most of the new buildings in the Pearl District, nearly all, have black trim. Unfortunately, I didn't take any good pictures of details like that. You can see it a little in this building, but I really took this picture because it looks like the Pac Med building in Seattle, where I used to work.

They also have a streetcar.

And they're understandably proud.

I'm happy to report that after many trips to Portland, I finally can recommend a restaurant, Byways Cafe.

previous next
latest archive
profile diaryland